Series You Really Need to Read

First series, Jeanne C Stein’s Anna Strong books.  I went out and bought these books after meeting Jeanne at RT.  She was such a lovely lady and funny.  Man the things she can say with a straight face and get away with„, geez I wish I could do that.  The series so far is made up of 1. The Becoming, 2. Blood Drive, 3. The Watcher, 4. Legacy, 5. Retribution and with number 6. The Chosen came out last August.  If you want kick ass heroines in a paranormal world, Anna’s you gal.  A take charge, take no prisoners, what’s right is worth fighting for and no holds barred.


The second series is The Dark Days Novels by Jocelynn Drake.  Starting with Nightwalker, moving onto Dayhunter, then Dawnbreaker and the recently released Pray for Dawn and Wait for Dusk.   I love the suspense in these books and even the flashes of humor.  For those of you who have read these books, you know what I mean.  For those of you who are about to start all I can say is the punch line “once this is over, we have a date to kill each other still right?”

Last but not least, “The Signs of the Zodiac” by Vicki Pettersson.   The first 4 books in order are The Scent of Shadows, The Taste of Night, The Touch of Twilight, and City of Souls and recently released the 5th book Cheat the Grave.  The worst thing about Cheat the Grave, I realized that I now have to wait like everyone else who has discovered these books for the next one to appear.  I will be honest and say the covers of these books put me off for quite a while but while at the RT Convention, I got books 4 and 5.  My OCD problem is I can’t start at the end of a series and work backwards.  If I have book 3 to read and review, then I just have to go out and get the first two.  I don’t believe you can give a knowledgeable review without all the information.  If an author can write it, and we get it to review, then you know what, I can do and will buy all books preceding the one I receive for review.

The difference between the first two series and The Signs of the Zodiac series is that in the Signs, it’s really just a supercharged human world.  There are no werewolves, vampires, elves and such but there are definitely things that don’t go bump in the night, more like BAG CRASH WALLOP, batten down the hatches we’re in for a wild ride.

All are definitely smack bang in the Urban Fantasy genre and I love hanging out in this genre.  I love the strong female lead characters.  I love the action and the resolutions rather than the HEA’s.


About theaussiebookworm

I'm a reader and a book reviewer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s