Shadowfever – Karen Marie Moning

 book cover of   Shadowfever    (MacKayla Lane, book 5)  by  Karen Marie Moning

Well what can I say? I personally thought this was great.  I loved the twists and turns.  I cant say it’s a fitting end to the series because I don’t know about the rest of you but did you catch the line “The End……. for now”? 

 I loved the way the book ended but I’m not sure that MS KMM has finished the series.  There are lots of unanswered questions about some of the secondary characters that I could see spinning off into new series.

 I paced myself when reading this book.  All too often I get a “must read” book and race through it and finish it too quickly.  Because this book is the last of a series I’ve heavily invested in, I wanted to savour each and every page.  I spread the reading out over 3 days and boy was I glad I did.  I gave myself time to mull over everything that had happened and be prepared for possible outcomes. I loved the twists and turns and how one minute you were thinking one thing, then some thing happened and your thoughts were turned 180 degrees

 If I had to pick one thing that made this book/series stand out for me, it’s the growth of Mac.  From a somewhat ditzy airhead to a lean mean fighting machine. Throughout this book, her reactions were believable and realistic.  There are scenes where I’d stop reading just so I could sit there and imagine myself in the place of the character.  I believe that Ms Moning has infused each page with real human emotions.  Life isn’t always a bunch of roses.  Its messy and painful and even revengeful and well as all the nice light and fluffy stuff.

 I have to add one tiny spoiler “I love Adam Black!!!!”

About theaussiebookworm

I'm a reader and a book reviewer
This entry was posted in Reviews, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

